Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

Gaia Gathering

This weekend I was helping out with the Gaia Gathering fund raiser “Divine In” at the Burritoville  restaurant(In Montreal)

The Canadian National Pagan Conference (CNPC), Gaia Gathering, is held every year over the long Victoria Day weekend in May. Each year, the event is hosted by a different city, which is determined through a bid and vote process. Gaia Gathering is a place where people from across Canada and from across the spectrum of this country’s Pagan religions an come together to talk about who we are, where we’ve come from, and where we might be going as a religious community in Canada.

The conference which will be held in the beautiful, bilingual and metropolitan Montreal from May 20th to 23rd, 2011. Our conference venue is Concordia University and the theme is “Language to Liturgy.”

I have been helping organize the art show associated with the conference.  I have been working on a new piece,  the mermaid,  I hope it will be ready for the show.

For the fund raiser I did Jin Shin Jyutsu .  I learned this about 15 years ago when I was having many migraines and discovered alternative and Oriental medicine.  It helped deal with the pain and turn down the volume of my allergies.  For a while in Nova Scotia I had a Shiatsu and Jin Shin practice but I was never able to get it off the ground here in Montreal.  Working with people this weekend I realized just how much I missed doing this.

Doing energy work requires that one is in a light meditative trance (or at least for me it does) .  It is as relaxing and healing for me as for my clients.  It was also a source for new artistic inspiration.  Why did I stop doing this?  I think mostly because here in Montreal all I got was calls from slime buckets and I became to associate it and the telephone with YUCK!!!

I will have to find a way to get this back into my life – the Jin Shin not the slime buckets.

Leave a Reply

