Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

Mermaid: Breaking Free

I managed to finish (or tell myself it was Finished!) the mermaid in time for the Ben Navaee gallery show.  There are always a thousand other things I can think of doing to a piece when I have to tear myself away from it.

This piece was about letting go of the past and the things that have been holding me back.  She is a result of the Morning Pages of “The Artist Way”, writing about the things that were making me feel trapped.

mermaid- breaking free

mermaid- breaking free

 

And some close ups:

mermaid back

mermaid back

 

front closeup

Comments on: "Mermaid: Breaking Free" (1)

  1. […] her several times and just had to incorporate these drawings into a doll.  After creating the “Mermaid -Breaking Free” I suspect I am claiming my power again.  This lady doesn’t need to break free of […]

Leave a Reply

