Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

Back Home Again – 2

I am back from Toronto. When did I stop doing impromptu trips like that? Yes it was stressful (the universe offered me an opportunity to showcase my art and promptly took away all financing) Not much went according to plan but I had FUN!!!
The bus trip went of with an exciting bang, first I missed the Berri-QUAM stop, rush to get to the right station, and then when everyone was on board this street guy climbed

on the bus and refused to get off, a great show was made by security and he eventually left the bus quietly. So the whole adventure started late…. The bus was comfortable and had WiFi but my stomach doesn’t do WiFi on a bus so I had 6 hours of staring at scenery.

View from inside gallery

Once in TO I headed for the gallery to assemble and set up the dolls and find they had under estimated the time it took to move the gallery and they weren’t ready for me so I had to stay at least until the next day, no sneaking back to Montreal.

I had a lovely stay with my cousin and her family. It was a great opportunity to talk with someone who had gone through similar family health issues. Besides that they have a

Gallery window

lovely home and fed me very well for which I am very grateful. I decided to stay for the reception after all which made them happy because it gave Helen and Isaac an excuse not to go away for the weekend.
On Saturday Helen went with me to the reception at the art gallery. I bless her for that as I am not at my best with groups of people unless I am officially in charge like being a teacher or speaker. It was hot but I game fully chatted with people about my work, my inspiration, and the techniques. When it was over I was ready to faint from the heat and stress but Helen dragged me to a little AIR CONDITIONED bistro and we had cold drinks and lovely little cakes until I was coherent again.

So I am back in Montreal and recovered. I am still trying to straighten out the financial mess but my website is back up again. That was a real pain – a show and no website! I have added a page for the mermaid and one for the Wild, Sacred Twins.
Now to get back into the swing of creating. I moved things around in the studio again. Yes Again. I am making space to move around, creating little dedicated areas. My computer work space is now isolated in the corner and not invading my artist space which I found very irritating. Organization and cleaning means I have more open space which makes it easier for me to focus and create. It also means the cat won’t try to take over the work space, scattering beads everywhere.

When I was in Whitehorse I picked up some fabric for skin at Bear Paw quilts – funny that I went so far from Montreal to find quilt fabric but though this city has great fabric stores they don’t have anything quite like Bear Paw Quilts.  The fabric is delightful and a little different from my usual colour scheme, I can almost but not quite see the doll it wants to be.

Leave a Reply

