Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

Commissions

Last month I had a commission for one of my tea cosy dolls.  They wanted one based on SCTV’s Edith Prickey.  This was a bit different then my standard “Granny” tea cosies and I had a fun time watching videos of Edith.  I even rediscovered an old one I saw hundreds of times when my youngest was a toddler  “Put Down the Ducky”!   Eventually this is what I came up with:

Edith Prickley

Edith Prickley Tea Cosy

 

Interestingly on the art forum that I frequent there were some long discussions on doing commissions.  Many people felt that doing them was a form of “selling out” , that some how ones art was corrupted by it being requested and paid for.  For me I have always felt it was a compliment, someone saw my art and wanted something special just for them.  That they trusted my artistic vision and hoped I would be inspired by their requests.  I have always seen it as a way to look beyond my own little box, to get inspired by something I hadn’t thought about.  I have rejected commissions in the past though, ones that wanted me to do exact duplicates of things, and no, I will not make a caricature of your boss.  But as long as I have the artistic control, it is a fun thing to do.  Yes I can get inspired by that shade of blue you love, or that picture of your grandmother, that scrap of fabric, or that memory of your heritage.

 

Leave a Reply

