Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

It has been almost 2 months since I last posted.  I finally have a finished bathroom! Yay!  The laundry room holes in the walls have been closed.  As soon as it is finished being plastered and primed we can get the flooring in and then we can have bedrooms with floor space again.

The other thing that has been happening is SPRING (cue music from Jaws)  The trees have been doing their thing and for the last two weeks I have been surviving under the influence of antihistamines.  Things are finally getting back to normal, I have only a drippy nose without them now.  I can focus for longer the 3 minutes again.

“Blossom where you are planted” is from Julia Cameron’s “Finding Water”  one of the sequels to “The Artist Way”  I started journaling again in the morning and making my way slowly through the book.  Due to my living situation most of the exercises in the book  are not applicable at this time but reading and journaling has helped.  Many weeks ago I cleared desk space and unpacked partially some of my drawing supplies and promptly ignored them.  My mind was being about three years old, throwing tantrums “If I can’t have my fabrics and sewing machine then I don’t want to do ANYTHING!” it wailed.  That was really helpful in dealing with the slow transition….

After weeks of writing that, I finally got past the block.  My granddaughter posted a picture of herself with bright blue streaks in her blond hair.  It is a lovely picture full of her character.  I thought about different ways to play with it but I couldn’t decide.  Then an internet friend Lynnette posted a partially completed image of a new piece she is working on.  All about the phoenix with feathers in her hair and I knew what to do with the picture.

So here is my granddaughter – the parrot girl.  9 x 12 oil pastels

parrot girl

Comments on: "Blossom where you are planted" (2)

  1. […] the post about Blooming Here ?  Well it feels more like freezing into place lately then blooming.  We have had snow on the […]

Leave a Reply

