Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

My Little Helper

I got into my studio to work this weekend again and my little helper was there to Purr along with me.

sophie

sophie asking for a muffin

As I work it sits on a little pillowcase of black satin,  and watches me.  In this case it was watching the muffin I also had.  Every once in a while it would reach out and put one claw in my arm to remind me that she/he loves muffins.

It is called Sophie.  When we got it we were told it was a female, and I never did really check, but I did think it had odd looking genitals…..  Then dimwit here ate a thread with a beading needle attached and the vet informed us that Sophia was really Sophocles.  But as a result the pronouns are a bit awkward because for 9 months it was a she and my mind refuses to do  the gender change.

This cat has totally changed how I work.  Before I was a messy crafter who left stuff all over the place but a few months after the beading needle incident, it found some pretty metallic thread to eat and after 40 stitches in its belly I realized I had to do things differently.  I need to use boxes which close tightly and smoothly because this darling can open them otherwise, and they have to stay closed if they just so happen to “fall” off the desk!  And things that “fall” get chewed up by the dog.  Between the two of them I am sooo tidy now!

I use a big Ferro-Rocher chocolate box as a work space when I am beading because I can close it up without having to put everything away. And all threads get tidied up and put away – immediately.

Sophie also insures I take breaks.  When we lived in Montreal, they got fed at 5 pm when I started supper, here I make supper at 4 but when they arrived they were still on Montreal time and they never adapted to Edmonton time, so now they eat at 3pm.  So at 2 pm it starts bugging me for food.  First it purrs, then it starts giving loving little rubs with its head.  I tell you it is really hard to sew when  cat keeps bumping your hands, the needle goes all over the place, including into me.  As  a result they get fed at 2:30 when I work in my studio.

I did get the sculpting of the chest and arms finished.  Here is Pan with his legs pinned on because this is supposed to be a blog about dolls, not cats.  On Sunday I worked on his right leg, finishing the shaping.

Pan with legs

Pan with legs

Leave a Reply

