Dolls, Fibre Scultpures and Costumes

Not Screaming

No I am not screaming, sometimes turning the air blue, but I am not screaming….. yet.

After my nice holiday and the show I settled back into the routine until Alberta Health Services decided in its particular lack of wisdom to put out bids for home care to save money.  Suddenly we had another home care provider, all the old familiar faces that someone with dementia needs disappeared overnight to be replaced with, in one week, 11 different caregivers.  Yes 11 different people, many of whom had no experience, no clue what they should be doing and couldn’t lift a flea to save their lives.  Since the end of June we have had 19 different people.  All of whom I had to train.

During this time Mom has gotten worse (we had a trip to ER) and no longer pushes off when stood up and doesn’t step, so the care givers have been ordered to either use the hoist or have me lift her.  Yes, that is right a 65 year old woman is lifting someone because those 20 somethings have no clue how to do this.  Because the hoist is a joke, it is complicated and slow.   We use it for bathing, note the “we” because I have to help with the hoist too.

And of course they come earlier so I no longer have any quiet, private time in the morning to help me balance, to journal or pretend to workout, so I can face the rest of the day.

We had some wonderful caregivers with the previous company but they couldn’t switch because they were indentured servants, i.e. foreign workers, full trained Filipino nurses who were amazing.  Actually they were probably lucky to have a contract because all the other caregivers got their wages cut while the executives got bonuses and pay increases.

I have done quite a lot of knitting, mostly to keep from screaming.  I did some painting too, but most of those were “experimental” and mostly splashing stuff on a page, not for public consumption.   I did some work on Pan, doing more sculpting on his head.  It is amazing how many hours one can needle sculpt without it making any difference to a photo.

wingspan finised

wingspan finished

Leave a Reply

